MINUTES OF THE GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE Monday, 18th May 2009 at 8.20pm

PRESENT: Councillor John (Chair), Councillor Blackman (Vice-Chair) and Councillors Bessong, Beswick, Butt, Colwill, Dunwell, Lorber, Sneddon and Wharton.

Declarations of Interest 1.

None declared.

2. Political Balance - Review of, and Appointment of Members to **Sub-Committees**

The meeting of Council on 18th May 2009 reviewed the representation of political groups on main committees. As soon as practicable after such a review, those committees are required to conduct a review of the representation of political groups on any sub-committees they may have.

RESOLVED:-

- (i) that the size of the General Purposes Committee's subcommittees and the allocation of seats on each sub-committee be agreed in accordance with the advice set out in the report submitted from the Borough Solicitor;
- (ii) that Chairs, Vice-Chairs, Members and alternates be appointed to each sub-committee for the municipal year 2009/10 as follows:

BRENT PENSION FUND SUB-COMMITTEE (3/2/2)

D BROWN Wharton Castle HASHMI Dunn Bessong **C J PATEL** Pagnamenta Green

BACCHUS Beswick Butt CRANE (C) Van Kalwala John

H B PATEL(VC) Baker Mistry DETRE H M Patel Colwill

NON-VOTING CO-OPTEES: Ashok Patel

George Fraser

GENERAL PURPOSES LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (1/1/1)

V BROWN (C) Wharton Castle

FARRELL J Moher Moloney

JOSEPH (VC) H M Patel Steel

SCHOOLS DISCIPLINARY SUB-COMMITTEE

(2/2/1)

MOTLEYMatthewsLeamanWHARTONHiraniJackson

ARNOLD (C) Singh Thomas BACCHUS Ahmed Jones

MRS FERNANDES Kansagra Mistry

(VC)

SENIOR STAFF APPOINTMENTS SUB-COMMITTEE (2/2/1)

WHARTON Lorber D Brown SNEDDON Matthews Allie

BESWICK Butt R Moher JOHN (C) Crane Eniola

COLWILL (VC) H B Patel Blackman

STAFF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (A)

(2/2/1)

CASTLE (C) Cummins Tancred SNEDDON Wharton Hashmi

BESWICK Long J Moher **FARRELL** R Moher Moloney

JOSEPH (VC) Colwill Baker

STAFF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (B)

(2/2/1)

JACKSONCluesMatthewsWHARTON (VC)DunnAnwar

LONGThomasAhmedR MOHERArnoldBacchus

KANSAGRA (C) Detre Colwill

(iii) that the following appointments be made for the municipal year 2009/10:

EMPLOYEES' JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (3/3/2)

CASTLEWhartonJacksonC J PATELV BrownBessongSNEDDOND BrownCorcoran

FARRELLButtCraneJ MOHERJohnJones

AHMED Eniola Van Kalwala

KANSAGRABakerMistryCOLWILL (C)Mrs FernandesH M Patel

TEACHERS' JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (3/3/2)

MOTLEYCastlePagnamentaSNEDDONHashmiGuptaWHARTON (C)TancredSneddon

AHMED Powney Singh
ARNOLD Long Jones
J MOHER R Moher Moloney

MRS FERNANDESVan ColleSteelH M PATELBakerMistry

The meeting ended at 8.21pm

A JOHN Chair